Personal Highlights During my time on the Regina Public School Board of Education (2016-2020)

It has been an honour to serve the Regina Public School Board of Education. There were many important and rewarding experiences. I am going to share just a few:

  • Attending the Annual Powwow to honour Graduates of Treaty Four Territory. I had never been to a powwow until I attended my first one in 2017 and I kept coming back to celebrate with the graduates. It was an honour to join in the festivities.
  • I also went to my first Feast and Round Dance. It was very relaxing and enjoyable to sit on blankets getting to know people and eating copious amounts of food. The food was delicious and a few people shared containers with me so that I could take some home. I am not a great dancer so I was a little apprehensive about participating in the round dance, but I think I managed okay. It is such a treat to dance to the impressive drumming by the talented group.
  • The Community Engagement Forums were highlights for me, as well. At one of the forums, I sat in a room with employees who shared about the mental health of their students. It was heartbreaking to hear about the many students who were suffering with debilitating depression and anxiety. I made a commitment to myself at that time that I would never stop fighting for more mental health support for our students (and our staff).
  • Attending the Allan Blakeney Adult Campus Graduation. I tried to attend every graduation to which I was invited, but I especially enjoyed the Adult Campus Graduation. I am so proud of those students! They faced many barriers to get to that place on stage. These are students with grit! Even when I have visited the adult campus and met with the students, I was so awed by their resiliency. A number of the students were recent immigrants who overcame language and cultural barriers to get that diploma. Other students had dropped out of high school at one time because of challenges they were facing, but they also walked across that stage.
  • Attending Treaty Four (and Métis) Flag Raisings. I was invited to two of these events, one at Albert School and one at the mâmawêyatitân centre. At the latter one, I was invited to give an address and to participate in the actual raising of the flags. It was an incredible honour. Below is a photo from the event

Leave a Comment